Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Online event: Memorializing the Sabra and Shatila Massacre: Bearing Witness, Resilience, and Accountability

September 16

Wednesday, 16 September
10 am Pacific – 1 pm Eastern – 7 pm central Europe/central Africa – 8 pm Palestine
Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/313291956621995/
Zoom registration: https://bit.ly/34LMo4r

Join the General Union of Palestinian Students (GUPS) and the Arab and Muslim Ethicities and Diasporas (AMED) Studies in an open classroom to commemorate the 38th anniversary of the Sabra and Shatila Massacre, with oral histories of resilience, activism, bearing witness and accountability for war crimes.

Date and Times: September 16th, 2020, 10am to 1pm PST (1-4pm EST, 8-11pm Lebanon and Palestine).

Register in advance here: https://bit.ly/34LMo4r

Co-Moderated by Dr. Rabab Abdulhadi (AMED Studies), Sabreen Imtair (SFSU GUPS) and Omneya Ragab (UNICEF and Cairo to the Camps)

Participants:

Scholars:
Dr. Jaber Soleiman
Dr. Rosemary Sayigh

Shatila Witnesses
Nohad Hammad
Hoda El-Asfar

International Witnesses and Tribunal Participants
Dr Swee Ang
Lilliane Ghanem
Dr. Zulaiha Ismail
Ellen Siegel

Co-sponsored by Samidoun Palestinian Prisoner Solidarity Network

 

Details

Date:
September 16
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/313291956621995/