Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Online event: Solidarity with Issam Hijjawi Bassalat and the Saoradh 9

September 22

When: Tuesday, September 22 at 10:00am PT / 1:00pm ET/6:00 pm Ireland/8:00 pm Palestine
REGISTER TO JOIN ON ZOOM: https://bit.ly/prisonersolidarity

Please share the Facebook event:

https://facebook.com/events/s/solidarity-with-issam-hijjawi-/379237706575136/?ti=icl 

We stand in full solidarity with Dr. Issam Hijjawi Bassalat and the Irish Republican prisoners, who have started a hunger strike on 16 September as protest against the isolation of Dr. Hijjawi Bassalat by the prison authorities.

Dr. Hijjawi Bassalat, who is a prominent Palestinian community leader in Scotland, was arrested together with nine Irish republicans by the British MI5, the Irish Gardaí, Police Scotland, London’s Metropolitan Police, and over 500 officers of the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) in the so-called “Operation Arbacia.” We demand the freedom of all political prisoners in Palestine and Ireland, and call upon their supporters to organize solidarity actions.

Join us to hear from speakers:
* Stephen Murney of Saoradh, former Republican political prisoner
* Yousef Qandeel, Palestinian community organizer in London
* Micheáilín Butler, Irish diaspora organizer and activist

Organized by Samidoun Palestinian Prisoner Solidarity Network

THIS EVENT WILL BE STREAMED LIVE AT https://facebook.com/SamidounPrisonerSolidarity

Read more background information: https://samidoun.net/2020/09/dr-issam-hijjawi-bassalat-and-irish-republicans-on-hunger-strike-in-prison-organize-solidarity-and-demand-freedom/

Details

Date:
September 22
Event Category:
Website:
https://bit.ly/prisonersolidarity