Twenty-two more Palestinians imprisoned without charge or trial

Israeli occupation authorities issued 22 administrative detention orders for imprisonment without charge or trial on the basis of secret evidence against Palestinian prisoners between 15 and 25 November, reported Palestinian lawyer Mahmoud Halabi.

Among those ordered to administrative detention was Khadija Jibril Ruba’i, 30, from Yatta, who was ordered imprisoned for 3 months without charge or trial after occupation forces invaded her home and seized her on 10 October.

Among the 18 prisoners whose administrative detention was renewed was Mohammed Salameen, one of the four comrades of Basil al-Araj originally detained by the Palestinian Authority for several months, their imprisonment trumpeted as a victory for security coordination. Following their release after a Palestinian outcry, four were seized by the Israeli occupation – Salameen, Mohammed Harb, Haitham Siyaj and Seif al-Idrissi – and have been imprisoned without charge or trial since that time. Al-Araj, Palestinian youth activist and intellectual, was shot down in March in an assassination/arrest raid by Israeli occupation forces in El-Bireh as he resisted.

There are currently over 450 Palestinians imprisoned without charge or trial under administrative detention, among 6,200 Palestinian prisoners in total. The orders are issued for one to six months at a time but are indefinitely renewable; many Palestinians have spent years at a time jailed with no charge and no trial under these orders, first imposed on Palestine by the British mandate.

Administrative detention orders were issued against:

1. Islam Fayeq Nimer, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
2. Yousef Fakhri Atrash, Jenin, 4 months, extension
3. Bassel Hussam Ma’aleh, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
4. Adam Taha Abu Sharar, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
5. Fayez Mohammed Atta, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
6. Abdel-Rahman Jamal Zeer, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
7. Lutfi Hassan Awawdeh, al-Khalil, 6 months, extension
8. Mohammed Ibrahim Abu Kweik, Ramallah, 6 months, new order
9. Mehi Sami Hajir, Ramallah, 6 months, new order
10. Khadija Jibril Ruba’i, al-Khalil, 3 months, new order
11. Obeida Adnan Barghouthi, 4 months, extension
12. Mohammed Hussein Salameen, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
13. Suhaib Jamil Shabah, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
14. Mahmoud Yousef Abu Daoud, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
15. Ismail Najib Faraj, Bethlehem, 6 months, extension
16. Mahmoud Ishaq Abu Hashhash, al-Khalil, 6 months extension
17. Moatassem Tayseer Samara, Tulkarem, 6 months, extension
18. Rizq Mohammed Shreim, Qalqilya, 4 months, extension
19. Mohammed Yassin Shalaldeh, al-Khalil, 6 months, extension
20. Saeb Fahmi Salem, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
21. Adnan Ahmed Khader, Tulkarem, 4 months, extension
22. Mohammed Shukri Awad, Ramallah, 4 months, new order