Reminder: Twitterstorm and more actions today for Palestinian Prisoners’ Day! #WeAreWithYou #FreeOurPrisoners

Reminder: Twitterstorm and more actions today for Palestinian Prisoners’ Day! #WeAreWithYou #FreeOurPrisoners

On Friday, 17 April, Palestinian Prisoners’ Day, Samidoun Palestinian Prisoner Solidarity Network will be joining with groups and activists around the world to tweet our collective, symbolic solidarity with Palestinian prisoners in Israeli jails. Follow @SamidounPP on Twitter for updates, news and more on the struggle of Palestinian prisoners and to follow the Twitterstorm!

As part of the “You are not alone, We are with you” campaign, the hashtag throughout the day will be #WeAreWithYou. This twitterstorm will be joined by activists from throughout occupied Palestine and around the world, and we urge you to join us! Tweet your links, message of solidarity or video about the Palestinian prisoners at any time during the day and add the hashtag, #WeAreWithYou.

Use our list of sample tweets and resources here.  Use the link: https://bit.ly/SamidounTweets

Note: We will also be joining the online Twitterstorm from 2-4 pm Central time (9-11 pm Europe, 10 pm-midnight Palestine) on Friday, 17 April called by the US Palestinian Community NetworkAddameer and others for #PalestinianPrisonersDay and #FreeOurPrisoners. Sample tweets for this campaign are available here: https://bit.ly/USPCNPrisonersDay2020 and here.

 

Join the EuroPalForum webinar (with Samidoun participation) for Palestinian Prisoners’ Day!

With Charlotte Kates of SamidounLara Ramadan of Addameer, former prisoner Akram Satari and journalist Motassem Dalloul:Friday, 17 April
7 am Pacific/10 am Eastern/3 pm UTC/5 pm Europe/6 pm Palestine
Online over Zoom
Register at Eventbrite for event link: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/5000-prisoners-israeli-racism-and-medical-negligence-amidst-covid-19-tickets-101540586628

As the deadly covid-19 virus evidently threatens to exacerbate the situation in prisons to levels hitherto unseen, it is vital that awareness is raised as a matter of urgency.

It is in this context that EuroPal Forum brings you this online seminar, which seeks to raise awareness about the plight of Palestinian prisoners and the specific challenges they are facing during this global pandemic. To foster this seminar, EuroPal is bringing together those at the forefront of discourse and understanding on the condition of Palestinian prisoners for a 2-hour discussion on the dynamics of the situation in Israeli jails.

 

More important online events today:

  • Friday, 17 April: Participate in the Facebook Live featuring Sahar Francis of Addameer, organized by the US Palestinian Community Network at 11 am Pacific, 2 pm Eastern, 8 pm Europe, 9 pm Palestine at https://www.facebook.com/USPCN/
  • Friday, 17 April – In Prison there is no Social Distancing, from Rikers Island to Palestine. Organized by Jewish Voice for Peace, including speakers Marc Lamont Hill, Bassem and Ahed Tamimi, Mariame Kaba, Aarab Barghouthi, Randa Wahbe, Dareen Tatour, Brad Parker, Azadeh Shahshahani, Lex Steppling. 10 am Pacific/1 pm Eastern/7 pm Europe/8 pm Palestine. Register here: https://secure.everyaction.com/bK2HzdtoI0WRvDkmfsRo7Q2
  • Friday, 17 April. Palestinian Prisoners’ Day with Ramzy Baroud, organized by the University of Leeds Palestine Solidarity Group. 11 am Pacific/2 pm Eastern/7 pm Britain/8 pm Europe/9 pm Palestine Join the Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/224106195604998/
  • Friday, 17 April (In Spanish) Prisons: The pandemic behind walls and bars. Testimonies from Colombia, Palestine and the Basque Country (Euskal Herria). Organized by Paz Con Dignidad. 8:30 am Pacific/11:30 am Eastern/5:30 pm Europe/6:30 pm Palestine. Join on Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/810549703
  • Friday, 17 April (In Arabic): Palestinian Prisoners – Resisting the occupation amid a global pandemic, with Dr. Khaled Odetallah. 9 am Pacific/12 pm Eastern/6 pm Europe/7 pm Palestine, organized by the Right to Education Campaign with many other organizations, including Samidoun Palestine. Via Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/events/513623755977088/
  • Friday, 17 April: A Tale of A Palestinian Detainee. Facebook Live at the Global Campaign to Return to Palestine. 6 am Pacific/9 am Eastern/3 pm Europe/4 pm Palestine. More info: https://www.facebook.com/Return.Eng/
  • Friday, 17 April: Hands Off Venezuela, the first of a series of webinars hosted by The Red Nation in partnership with the Arab Resource & Organizing Center (AROC) and the Center for Political Education. 5 pm Pacific/8 pm Eastern/2 am Europe/3 am Palestine
    Zoom registration link: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_W1uTlqEFQn2qCAYIWhmIjQ
  • Sunday, 19 April: NY4Palestine will host a webinar on the case of Ubai Aboudi and child prisoners in occupied Palestine at 11 am Pacific, 2 pm Eastern, 8 pm Europe, 9 pm Palestine. Featuring Hind Shraydeh, Palestinian writer, married to Ubai Aboudi; MIT mathematician Dr. Haynes Miller and Hadeel Shatara of Samidoun Palestine. Register online to attend:  http://bit.ly/ImprisonedPalestiniansWebinar
Palestinian Prisoners’ Day is also an international day of solidarity against racist, colonial imprisonment. We join with the Incarcerated Workers’ Organizing Committee of NYC to support their Phone Zap for NYC prisoners today. Get the details here and join in: https://twitter.com/IWOC_NYC/status/1250960579575111681
Use these graphics today on social media: