New administrative detention orders issued against Palestinian political prisoners

On 2 August, the Israeli occupation military court in Ofer issued nine administrative detention orders against Palestinian prisoners, reported Palestinian lawyer Ashraf Abu Sneineh.

The nine orders were imposed on the following:

1. Ahmad Abu Hashhash, 6 months, new order
2. Mohammed Qarareh, 3 months, new order
3. Zakaria al-Ghoul, 4 months, renewal
4. Hammam Hantash, 4 months, renewal
5. Salah Khawaja, 4 months, new order
6. Shadi Ajamiya, 3 months, renewal
7. Nidal Abu Sneineh, 4 months, new order
8. Mahmoud Talameh, 4 months, new order
9. Mohammed Ashtayel, 4 months, renewal order

Administrative detention orders are issued on the basis of “secret evidence” for the imprisonment of Palestinians without charge or trial. They are indefinitely renewable, and Palestinians can spend years at a time imprisoned without charge or trial under these orders. There are currently over 500 Palestinian administrative detainees out of over 6,200 Palestinian political prisoners in Israeli jails.

Among this group of people is Hammam Hantash, a Palestinian journalist whose administrative detention order was renewed as well as Mahmoud Talameh, the brother of Diaa Talameh, killed by Israeli occupation forces in 2015 in al-Khalil. Talameh’s killing helped to spark the Jerusalem Intifada in late 2015.

This report came only one day after Palestinian lawyer Mahmoud al-Halabi said that the Israeli occupation authorities had issued 47 administrative detention orders in the preceding period, including orders against Palestinian Legislative Council members Azzam Salhab, Ahmed Attoun, Ahmed Mubarak and Hassan Yousef, all of whose detention was renewed. 13 of the orders were newly issued against prisoners arrested for the first time or just re-arrested, including a 6-month order against rearrested former prisoner Bilal Diab, currently on strike against his detention without charge or trial. The orders were issued against:

1. Karam Nasser Abed Rabbo, Bethlehem, 6 months, extension
2. Mohammed Suleiman Harizat, al-Khalil, 4 months, new order
3. Mohammed Hussein Zayoud, Jenin, 6 months, new order
4. Azzam Numan Salhab, al-Khalil, 3 months, extension (PLC Member)
5. Adeeb Hamouda Ghoulban, Qalqilya, 6 months, new order
6. Ahmed Abdel-Aziz Mubarak, Ramallah, 3 months, extension (PLC Member)
7. Hassan Yousef Dar Khalil, Ramallah, 3 months, extension (PLC Member)
8. Mohammed Suleiman Masalmeh, al-Khalil, 3 months, extension
9. Ahmed Azmi Hanatsheh, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
10. Obeida Ahmad Mar’i, Qalqilya, 4 months, extension
11. Ibrahim Fawzi Abu al-Rish, Nablus, 4 months, extension
12. Jawad Shehadeh, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
13. Saad Hassan al-Amour, Bethlehem, 4 months, new order
14. Yahya Hani Jaddou, Bethlehem, 4 months, extension
15. Hisham Issa Abu Samara, Jenin, 3 months, extension
16. Mohammed Mustafa al-Najjar, Bethlehem, 4 months, extension
17. Salah Mahmoud Attiyeh, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
18. Adnan Ahed Asfour, Nablus, 4 months, extension
19. Qusay Mohammed Salman, Bethlehem, 4 months, extension
20. Muath Issam Nassar, Bethlehem, 4 months, new order
21. Nour Kayed Issa, Jerusalem, 3 months, extension (16-year-old child prisoner)
22. Islam Imad Jawarish, Bethlehem, 6 months, extension
23. Yousef Abdel-Malek Saadi, Jenin, 4 months, extension
24. Anas Hatem Qufeisha, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
25. Waiza Sidqi Sawafta, Tubas, 3 months, extension
26. Fares Ahmad Zahra, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
27. Nidal Hashem Abdel-Hadi, Jenin, 4 months, extension
28. Othman Kamel Nakhleh, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
29. Ayman Ali Abu Arqoub, al-Khalil, 6 months, extension
30. Jibril Adib Jiyawi, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
31. Abdel-Rahman Fadel Qassem, Jenin, 6 months, extension
32. Alaa Yousef Suweiti, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
33. Yousef Mohammed Abu Latifa, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
34. Hussam Khaled Tammam, Tulkarem, 2 months, extension
35. Sami Subhi Haj, 6 months, new order
36. Mahmoud Abdel-Latif Deek, Nablus, 3 months, new order
37. Mahdi Jamil Arqoub, Jenin, 4 months, new order
38. Ahmed Mohammed Attoun, Ramallah, 4 months, extension (PLC Member)
39. Saif al-Din Mahmoud Salameh, Jenin, 6 months, new order
40. Musaab Fathi Barari, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
41. Tamer Abdel-Karim al-Haj Ali, Nablus, 6 months, new order
42. Salim Idriss Hamdan, Ramallah, 4 months, new order
43. Munther Mohammed Abu Wardeh, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
44. Montasser Issa Shadid, al-Khalil, 6 months, extension
45. Tawfiq Faisal Nazzal, Jenin, 6 months, new order
46. Bilal Nabil Diab, Jenin, 6 months, new order
47. Ayed Mohammed Salem Dudeen, al-Khalil, 3 months, extension