Khalida Jarrar among 41 Palestinians ordered imprisoned without charge or trial

The Israeli occupation military courts confirmed 41 more administrative detention orders against Palestinian political prisoners in the latter half of December 2017. There are currently over 450 Palestinians imprisoned without charge or trial under administrative detention orders.

Administrative detention orders are indefinitely renewable and are issued for one to six months at a time. Palestinians have spent years consecutively jailed with no charge and no trial under repeatedly renewed administrative detention orders. An artifact of the British colonial mandate over Palestine, Israeli administrative detention orders are used systematically to target community leaders and Palestinian activists.

Among the Palestinians subject to administrative detention orders in late December was Khalida Jarrar, the prominent Palestinian leftist leader and member of the Palestinian Legislative Council, whose imprisonment without charge or trial was renewed for an additional six months.

Also among the Palestinian prisoners whose detention was renewed were two former long-term hunger strikers, Akram al-Fassisi and Anas Shadid. The detention of Fassisi, 34, was renewed for the fourth time for four months; he has been imprisoned without charge or trial since 19 September 2016 – only months after his prior release, also from administrative detention without charge or trial. During previous administrative detentions, he won his freedom in two lengthy hunger strikes.  Shadid, 21, was also subject to another six-month administrative detention order. Detained for nine months without charge or trial, he won his release after an 88-day hunger strike in May 2017. He was re-arrested only 27 days after his release, on 14 June, and ordered jailed once more without charge or trial.

The following Palestinian prisoners were subject to administrative detention orders:

1. Mujahid Abdel-Qader Abdel-Fattah, Ramallah, 6 months, new order
2. Jihad Mohammed Suleiman, Ramallah, 3 months, new order
3. Mohammed Ahmed Shehadeh, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
4. Ibrahim Nasser Hammad, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
5. Mohammed Mahmoud Sahwil, Ramallah, 4 months, new order
6. Aseed Mohammed Mualla, Nablus, 4 months, extension
7. Mahmoud Mohammed Muteir, Jerusalem, 6 months, new order
8. Yazan Mohammed Tari, Jerusalem, 6 months, new order
9. Qais Fuad Kharma, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
10. Seif al-Deen Mahmoud Salameh, Jenin, 6 months, extension
11. Thaer Said Abu Roumim, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
12. Khalil Walid Suleiman, Nablus, 4 months, extension
13. Tamer Abdel-Karim Haj Ali, Nablus, 6 months, extension
14. Iyad Habib Mohammed, Bethlehem, 4 months, extension
15. Yousef Abed Rabbo Kawazbeh, al-Khalil, 6 months, extension
16. Mohammed Mahmoud Husseiniya, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
17. Tawfiq Faisal Nazzal, Jenin, 6 months, new order
18. As’ad Mohammed Marahil, Nablus, 4 months, extension
19. Ibrahim Issa Mansour, Ramallah, 4 months, new order
20. Mamoun Jamal Hamdan, al-Khalil, 6 months, new order
21. Suleiman Abdel-Karim Aghouz, Bethlehem, 4 months, extension
22. Mahmoud Farhan al-Dariyah, Bethlehem, 4 months, new order
23. Omar Ayed Taqatqa, Ramallah, 6 months, new order
24. Akram al-Fassisi, al-Khalil, 4 months, extension
25. Basil Khaled Dweikat, Nablus, 4 months, new order
26. Mohammed Taleb Shawawreh, Bethlehem, 4 months, extension
27. Ayman Naim Mar’i, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
29. Khalida Kanaan Jarrar, Ramallah, 6 months, extension
30. Hashem Abdel-Qader Hijaz, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
31. Shadi Fayez Nammoura, al-Khalil, 6 months, new order
32. Mohammed Ahmed Salah, Tulkarem, 6 months, new order
33. Hussein Mohammed Mardawi, Nablus, 6 months, extension
34. Baraa Musa Zahiman, Nablud, 6 months, new order
35. Anas Ibrahim Shadid, al-Khalil, 6 months, extension
36. Yousef Faris Abu Arqoub, al-Khalil, 3 months, new order
37. Salah Awad al-Jawarish, Bethlehem, 6 months, new order
38. Murad Walid Malaisha, Jenin, 4 months, extension
39. Mujahid Ahmed Abu al-Izz, Jenin, 2 months, new order
40. Saud al-Araj, Ramallah, 4 months, extension
41. Suleiman Akram Abu Salha, Nablus, 6 months, extension