Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Online Event: Whose Narratives? Gender, Justice, & Resistance: A conversation with Leila Khaled

September 23

Wednesday, 23 September
12:30 pm Pacific – 3:30 pm Eastern – 9:30 pm central Europe/central Africa – 10:30 pm Palestine time
Register on Zoom: https://sfsu.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_ycpMqzqcReO3HCQJKShi5g
Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/754000115385200/

Join the open classrooms of Professor Rabab Abdulhadi (AMED Studies) and Professor Tomomi Kinukawa (Women and Gender Studies) for a historic roundtable conversation with Palestinian feminist, militant, and leader Leila Khaled, followed by Q&A discussion with students, activists, and scholars at 12:30-2:30 pm PST (3:30-5:30 pm New York, and 10:30pm-12:30 am in Palestine and Jordan).

Register in advance for this webinar:
https://sfsu.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_ycpMqzqcReO3HCQJKShi5g

Participants:
Leila Khaled
Rula Abu Dahou, Acting Director, Institute for Women’s Studies at Birzeit University, Palestine
Ronnie Kasrils, Palestine solidarity anti-Zionist activist and member of uMkhonto we Sizwe, 1961-1990
Sekou Odinga, Black Liberation Army, 1960s & ‘70s, and 33-year prisoner in US jails
Laura Whitehorn, Co-founder of Release Aging People in Prison, RAPP, and 14-year-captive political prisoner

Moderators:
Dr. Rabab Abdulhadi
Dr. Tomomi Kinukaw

Co-Sponsors:
Al-Awda: The Palestinian Right to Return Coalition
Alliance for Water Justice in Palestine
Jewish Voice for Peace- Bay Area
Jewish Voice for Peace- Boston
Samidoun Palestinian Prisoner Solidarity Network
SJP at UCLA
Workers World Party
Within Our Lifetime
Yalla Indivisble

Details

Date:
September 23
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/754000115385200/